Awards and Honours


ALTA has established an Awards Program to honour exemplary trustees and boards, and invites the participation of its members in nominating worthy colleagues for our two major awards. Descriptions of both awards and the criteria for them are available online, as are Nomination Forms to be printed out and submitted according to the guidelines. They can also be requested from the ALTA office through mail or fax.  

Award nominations are to be submitted each year. Applications will be accepted until March 31st of every year. To apply, please download and submit the ALTA Award Nomination Form. For current award recipients, eligibility requirements, and application information, please follow the links below.

We're Proud of our Library Trustees!

ALTA is delighted to recognize and support the outstanding work of our trustees and the incredible work they do for Alberta's library boards and communities. Read their stories below!

Marilyn King

Winner of the 2019 Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award.

Read more about King's contributions to the library community.


Alissa Droog, Danielle Bettridge, Alyssa Martin & Ashleigh Yates-MacKay

Winner of the 2019 Lorne MacRae Intellectual Freedom Fund


Brooks Public Library Board

Winner of the 2019 ALTA Award of Excellence.

Read more about the Brooks Public Library Board's commitment to service, programming, partnership, and innovation.

Read More!    

Toni Samek Lorne MacRae FundWestlock 'Pets in the Library'

Library welcomes furry and feathery friends in innovative new program

"One thing that really piqued Klimchuk’s interest was the collection of animals located near the children’s area, part of the “Pets in the Library” program for which the library was recognized by the Alberta Library Trustees Association earlier this year..." Click for full story.

From Westlock News, article by Tim Bryant, November 12, 2013


    print the page