Awards & Honours

ALTA has established an Awards Program to honour exemplary trustees and boards, and invites the participation of its members in nominating worthy colleagues for our two major awards.

Descriptions of both awards and the criteria for them are available online, as are Nomination Forms to be printed out and submitted according to the guidelines. They can also be requested from the ALTA office through mail or fax.

For current award recipients, eligibility requirements, and application information, please follow the links below.


ALTA Award of Excellence

The Alberta Library Trustees Association (ALTA) Board of Directors established the Award of Excellence to recognize Library Boards that have enabled and supported their libraries to provide on-going excellent service to their communities over a five-year operational time period. The Award will be announced at the ALTA Annual General Meeting, which is held at the Alberta Library Conference.

Learn More!



Lois Hole Lifetime Achievement Award

The Alberta Library Trustees Association established the Lois Hole Award in 2001 in honour of the passion that our Lieutenant-Governor had for the role libraries play in our society and in gratitude for her support for libraries in Alberta.

Learn More!



Award nominations are to be submitted each year. Applications will be accepted until January 31st, 2017.

To apply, please download and submit the ALTA Award Nomination Form.